Liebster Award: Sharing the the Blog Love

liebster award

I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award, thanks to Mani from A New Life in India! I’m so excited to have been nominated and to get to pay back the blog love.

The Liebster Award is an award your fellow bloggers nominate you for. You can be nominated for two reasons: you are a new-er blogger with inspiring content and you have less than / around 200 followers. The point is to draw attention and exposure to new and exciting blogs.

To accept the award, you:

  • thank your nominator
  • list 11 facts about yourself
  • answer the questions posed by the person who nominated you
  • nominate 3-5 blogs by linking to their pages, notifying them, and creating questions of my own for them to answer
  • post the award

I do first want to thank Mani. Her blog is fantastic, and everyone should start by checking it out. She’s recently moved to India with her spouse, and I’m continually humbled in my own expat experience by how well she deals with the more extreme culture shock of an US to India move.

And now, on to random stuff about me!

11 Random Facts About Myself:

  1. I read novels for teens even though I’m almost into my 3rd decade. But I’m not ashamed! Go pick up a Young Adult novel and see if you’re not hooked immediately.
  2. I’m a librarian. I just got my MS in Library Science last year, and even though I’m not currently working in the field I refuse to give up my title!
  3. I have one tattoo in the middle of my back. It’s of the zia sun symbol, which in addition to personal meanings also has some really cool symbolic meanings.
  4. I worry sometimes about the cultural appropriation aspects of my tattoo.
  5. I’ve always wanted thick curly hair because mine is as fine and as straight as possible. But I’ve never talked myself into getting a perm.
  6. I don’t really like shoes the way most women do, but I loooove purses and have a hard time restraining myself from buying new ones all the time. (In fact, I just bought a new one that should arrive this week!) I think it has something to do with organizing my stuff inside of the new purse.
  7. This is my first real blog. I had a Tumblr before, but it was really just reblogs of stuff that I wanted to remember/come back to.
  8. This is my first time living as an expat. Previously, I’ve only been in a foreign country for 2 weeks at a time, and I’ve only been to 4 foreign countries: Canada, Mexico, Italy, and France.
  9. I have one younger brother who is about to get married and one brother and sister in law who are about to have a baby (any day now). Sometimes I wish the timing of our expat adventure had been a little better/earlier.
  10. I once went off caffeine for 2 years. Actually, it was right before moving to Denmark. I am now thoroughly re-addicted to coffee. (How can you live in Europe and not be?)
  11. I still can’t believe sometimes that we’re living in Europe and that we’re going to be here for the next 3 years! While we’ve got the every day part down, I’m not sure if the full implications of the move have really sunk in yet.

Questions I Must Answer:

  1. Name three of your favorite movies.

The 5th Element. Beauty and the Beast. Easy A.

The first two are favorites from my childhood, and they always make appearances when I’m sick. The last I just totally love. Emma Stone is awesome.

If you haven’t seen The 5th Element yet, oh my god you need to. It’s brilliant in so many ways. It’s a typical Bruce-Willis-as-a-down-and-out-ex-cop movie thrown together with some awesome science fiction, and the funniest, most ridiculous Chris Tucker character I have ever seen. And it has Gary Oldman playing one of the bad guys, and you know he’s awesome. Plus, it features this song, which is one of the best songs ever.

2. If you could live anywhere, where would it be and why?

This is a tough question because this whole experience may change my answer a bit. It’s so easy to say “I would live in Rome!” or somewhere else equally romantic and exotic before you know what exactly is involved in an international move. I also don’t know how living in Europe will change my perception of the US. Reverse culture shock is apparently a very serious, and often overlooked, phenomenon.

But right now I would say that I would probably want to live in a Europe-like city in the US: San Francisco, Portland, Boston, etc. I love certain aspects of life in Aarhus that you can’t get in much of the US, like being able to live for 3 years without owning a car, being able to bike to work without getting run over, the big city with a small town feel. But I do miss the ease of hearing my own language around me.

But ask me again in 3 years, and that answer might change.

As for the place that part of me has always wanted to live: New Mexico. My family spent many of our vacations in New Mexico when I was younger, and it still holds a special place in my heart. Those giant blue skies, those high plateaus of golden grasses, those red mountains. (This is also the personal reason for the zia tattoo. The zia is the symbol of the New Mexican flag. My parents also both have a zia tattoo of their own while my brother has one of kokpelli.)

3. Describe the last meal you would like to have before you die.

Ah, this is also hard! I have many favorite foods, but none that are absolutes. For some reason, I loooove baked potatos, so that would have to be on the list. The best things ever are sopapillas, little fried dough pillows that you cover in honey. (These also come from New Mexico.) I would also have to include strawberry shortcake with the shortcake made from biscuit-like dough. Oh! And pumpkin pie. Mmmm. Can I have a last meal of all desserts?

4. What is the most courageous thing you have ever done in your life?

Hmm. Well you could say moving to Denmark without ever having been here before! Day to day life in a new country takes a lot of courage.

But you could also say doing the Dragon’s Wing at the 6 Flags amusement park in St. Louis. A couple friends and I decided that this would be a good thing to do on a school trip to 6 Flags in 8th grade. I don’t think I would ever do it now.

5. What was the last book you read and what did you think of it?

The last book I read – just finished it yesterday – was Dragonsinger, the second book in the Harper Hall trilogy (which is in turn part of the Pern series) by Anne McCaffrey. See, I wasn’t lying when I told you I liked to read fantasy and Young Adult! I love a good coming-of-age, finding-your-true-place story, and this book did that perfectly.

I am a huge Goodreads fan, so if you want to follow my book reviews and what I’m reading, come find me on Goodreads.

6. Do you believe in any of the following: God, reincarnation, soulmates, or ghosts?

Hmm, I’m not sure. My family isn’t very religious, so I stopped going to church when I was about 8 or so. But I suppose I believe that there is something “up there.” I have the same general feeling about everything in that question, I guess. It would be nice if they existed. I don’t think that they don’t exist. But I don’t have any first hand experience with any of them.

Apart from soulmates. Brian and I met in 7th grade and just couldn’t seem to move on from each other. It’s been 11 years (just the other day), and I couldn’t imagine myself without him.

Now, enough about me. Let’s move on to…

My Nominations:

  1. Josh’s Journey: an American expat living in Germany with his German wife.
  2. Second to the Right: a family of 4 getting ready to move to Italy.
  3. Heather + Thomas: Heather and Thomas got married and moved to Denmark. This is their story.
  4. An American Hermit Crab in Denmark: Some adventures in language, food, knitting, and keeping busy. Plus, she just had a baby!
  5. Living the American Dream in Europe: Expat life in Germany with some general cogitations on being an expat that I found very helpful.

Question to My Nominees:

  1. What do you like to read and what is your favorite book?
  2. What is your favorite item of clothing / accessory / outfit (pick whatever is most appropriate)?
  3. What is the best lesson you have learned from being an expat / preparing to be an expat?
  4. What do you know now that you wish you had known when you first moved overseas / started your expat journey?
  5. What is your favorite experience / memory?
  6. Do you have any pet peeves?

If you would like to just accept the award without participating, that is totally an option! This is just a fun way to raise awareness of other bloggers.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Liebster Award: Sharing the the Blog Love

  1. Honestly Columbia mo has the big city small town feel. You can ditch the car and bike everywhere. Although it’s not very romantic or beautiful. But there is plenty of countryside if you drive 30 min in any direction. Disclaimer. This is not a very serious suggestion. But I’m sure there are other smallerish towns with colleges that are better.

    Like

    • You’re probably right. Aarhus is actually a fairly big university town, (it’s the youngest city in Denmark) so there are students all over the place. I bet the vibe would feel very much like Columbia at certain times of the day.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Leibster: Round 2 | An American Hermit Crab in Denmark

  3. Hey, Thanks for the nomination!
    I LOVE the film The Fifth Element. I actually watched it again a few months ago. Easy A is also pretty darn sweet! I think my all-time-favorite movie still is Fight Club. Man, I really like that film.

    I think about where else we might want to move to, perhaps if we could get jobs in another city in Germany or back in the US and I have no idea how to really answer that question. I really like where we are and really like where we used to live, in Portland. I always dream about returning to either Australia or South Korea. I think Australia would be easier on my husband.

    Thanks again for the encouraging support!

    Like

Leave a Reply

