The Snow is Falling!

Merry Christmas and Good Tub'Year. Source: http://spademanns.wikia.com/wiki/Fil:J-dag_wallpaper_1024x768.jpg

Merry Christmas and Good Tub’Year. Source: http://spademanns.wikia.com/wiki/Fil:J-dag_wallpaper_1024x768.jpg

Well, not the real snow. We’re still hanging in around 12°C/54°F most days and haven’t seen snow yet.

This refers to something else that’s happening today, the first Friday in November at exactly 8:59 pm. It’s J-Day (J-dag)! The day when all the breweries in Denmark release their special Christmas brew, or juleøl. The Danes also refer to this time as snowstorm (snestorm) or snowfall (snefald) – the commercials for today all say, “The snow falls on Friday!” (Sneen falder fredag!) – hence the title of my post. It officially kicks off the Christmas season in Denmark.

Tuborg started the whole trend in the 80’s with a blue and white themed animated advertisement. It was so popular, that the next year they made a beer to go along with it, called Julebrug. By now many other breweries have joined in the fun with their own juleøl. {Just a fun fact: Julebrug is only on the market for 10 weeks, but it’s the 4th best selling beer in Denmark!}

J-dag is apparently a really big deal in Denmark,* and the pubs and bars will be full tonight with people celebrating. Apparently, they even dress up in blue and white and decorate with fake snow aka foam. And Carlsberg employees will go around to different bars singing a traditional Tuborg Christmas Brew song and giving away a free beer.

Tuborg getting ready to deliver the Julebrug and jule-fun!

Tuborg getting ready to deliver the Julebrug and jule-fun! Source: http://www.carlsberggroup.com/brands/Pages/Tuborgjulebryg.aspx#.UnNlCJQ6VOF

In fact, Tuborg’s Julebrug has its own Facebook page with 78,000+ likes!

Unfortunately, Brian and I will be in Sweden tonight and will miss out on all the fun. We planned this trip before we had ever heard about J-dag or Julebrug, so we’ll have to catch the festivities next year.

I’ll leave you with a video of the original animated commercial that started all the fuss. The text at the end reads “Merry Christmas and a Happy Tub’year” (like, as a play on Tuborg because Tub’år sounds almost the same).

* Brian asked some of his Danish coworkers about J-dag, and they just kind of rolled their eyes, saying it’s more an excuse for students to get rip-roaring drunk on free beer than anything. I mean, it’s obviously a commercial “holiday,” but the numbers don’t lie. The fact that Julebrug is the 4th selling beer in Denmark despite its limited availability and that J-dag is the best day for Tuborg says to me that the Danes do like their Julebrug.

13 thoughts on “The Snow is Falling!

  1. I haven’t experienced the marketing that you’ve described, but I know my husband looks forward to “the Christmas beer” – it must be a Scandinavian thing? (It’s all bad-tasting stuff for me, unless I’m pouring one into the pan for my favorite pot roast recipe!) Have fun in Sweden – I haven’t been there (yet), can’t wait to read of your experience!!

    Like

    • It’s gotta be a Scandinavian thing. And maybe German, too? The Tuborg beer has hints of licorice, so I have some trepidation about trying it. But I’m definitely looking forward to partaking in the tradition.

      Also I hear the Christmas brews have a higher alcohol content, so maybe that would explain your dislike if it? (Along with the excessively teenagers!)

      Like

      • The higher alcohol content probably isn’t an issue, but I don’t like the heavy taste. In fact, half of an ice-cold Corona on a *very* hot day is about all I can take … so Norway probably isn’t the best place for me to expand my beer-drinking palate!

        However, my martini palate HAS been expanded by discovering Amundsen vodka. I don’t keep it in the house; it’s too tempting and then I *do* act like an immature teenager!

        Like

      • Hehe. I haven’t heard of Amundsen vodka, but it sounds like I should definitely check it out 😉 We don’t do a lot of mixed drinks or really hard alcohol in our house, but as Denmark is the home of schnapps, I think we might have to start.

        Like

  2. Well, Hi Alisson, it is so nice to hear your experiences in Denmark. Everytime I can, I read your stories which I think to be interesting. As I am a brazilian man, here things are a bit diferente. Well, that’s it, I will keep reading them … bye

    Like

    • Thanks for reading my blog! I’m glad you’re enjoying my posts. Are you in Denmark as well, or are you in Brazil and just reading about Scandinavian life for fun?

      Like

  3. WOW! the Danes have the most fabulous ideas for “reasons to party”! No wonder it’s one of the happiest places in the world.

    Enjoy your trip to Sweden and the remnants of J-Day!

    Mom Pierce

    Like

  4. Hi, interesting to see a blog like this – I am a native Aarhusianian (written like that?), and J-day is the holiday of the rural people – an excuse to venture to the “big city” and get pissed 😀 We, more gentle people, stay away by any means that weekend. Anyways – ‘julebryg’ is a combination of the words ‘jul’ as you know, means christmas or yule, and ‘bryg’ is brew. Brug means ‘to use’ – not saying julebryg isn’t useful in yule-time 😉 Skaal og hygge! Hilsen Daniel fra Århus

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing your knowledge and experiences as a native Aarhusian 🙂 I didn’t know Jdag had that “country” connotation. I love when I can learn from you guys.

      Like

Leave a Reply

