Speaking of Hugge

(While I procrastinate studying for my Danish test…)

I think I’ve finally figured out, a little bit, that whole Danish, I-love-when-it’s-dark-outside-because-it’s-so-hyggelig-inside sentiment.

Because until now I was like, “no, you’re crazy, it’s dark and cold no matter how many candles you light.” But then, I put our down comforter on our bed. (Ah, the beginning of winter.) And as I got in bed last night, I thought, “This is it! This is hygge.”

Soooo warm. (By the way, this is not me: pic by Tori Baratt Crane via http://www.flickr.com/photos/torimbc/4704773302/.)

Soooo warm.
(By the way, this is not me: pic by Tori Baratt Crane via http://www.flickr.com/photos/torimbc/4704773302/.)

It’s that thing of when it’s so cold outside the covers but it’s warm and snuggly in the covers. This is what all the Danes mean when they talk about how awesome winter is because it means you can light candles inside.

I mean, I got it intellectually, but I don’t think I had really really felt it until just now.

Ah cultural breakthroughs.

 

3 thoughts on “Speaking of Hugge

  1. Exactly 🙂 Next thing: The glory of blue blue sky or stars, fresh fresh air, and the sound of ice or snow making this certain squitchy sound under your boots. Just remember WARM clothing. Always. And you’ll be fine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

