Pumpkin!

Guys guys guys guys guys guys guys guys…

We. Found. Canned. Pumpkin. In. Denmark! Woo!

Canned pumpkin on the shelf of a SuperBest

Canned pumpkin on the shelf of a SuperBest

For those who may be looking in Denmark, it was in the American/English section of SuperBest, right next to the boxed Mac ‘n Cheese and the ginger ale. We found these specifically at the SuperBest outside of Aarhus C on Viborvej up by the Bilka in Tilst.

Of course, it’s not cheap. If you can see the tag, they’re 35 DKK a can, or $6. (My family in the US tells me the same brand is selling for 4 for $5 at home.) So we bought a small fortune in canned pumpkin because we weren’t sure when we would see it again.

Our pyramid of Libby's canned pumpkin.

Our pyramid of Libby’s canned pumpkin.

(Mmm, doesn’t that look delicious?)

Now the next problem is evaporated milk. A very friendly Danish woman – who was also purchasing some canned pumpkin – heard us talking about this dilemma and said we could buy some in powder form at a store called Specialkøbmanden, which sells specialty baking items. We have yet to go, but we aren’t really planning on baking any pies until Christmas, so we have some time. The powdered vs liquid form of the evaporated/condensed milk may present some challenges, so we shall see if there are some solutions to that online.

 

19 thoughts on “Pumpkin!

  1. You can also find evaporated milk at the different ethnic food shops. Asian food stores and Middle Eastern ones often have the evaporated and condensed milks. I also saw some recently at our local Min Kobmand stop and rob, by our place. That’s out in Randers, though. Not sure if you want to make that trip. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for the tip! We have a couple Asian food stores close to us, so I’ll be sure to check those before going all the way back out to Tilst to visit the Købmand store.

      Like

  2. Your “guys guys guys guys guys” made me laugh. Only other expats can understand the true excitement of finding an elusive ingredient – and understand the reality of taking out a small loan to cover the cost of bringing said ingredient home from the store. Seriously, your pumpkin can collection looks almost as good as the items that will be produced! 🙂

    Like

  3. Allison –

    So glad you found the pumpkin! here’s a tip — instead of buying all the separate spices for which the recipe calls for, you can buy a small bottle of Pumpkin Spice Mix (it’s got a little bit of them all in it.) You’ll also need salt and vanilla extract, and of course, the evaporated milk. We will be thinking about you on Thursday as we devour a couple of pumpkin pies. So glad you found it. You should make one in honor of America’s turkey day!

    Love,
    Mom Pierce

    Like

    • Thanks for the tip, Barb! The only problem is that I bet they don’t have a bottle of pumpkin pie spice here! But that’s fine. I’ve been building up our spice cabinet because we’re cooking more. I probably won’t get around to making on by Thursday, but maybe we’ll have one while you’re here for Christmas 😉

      Like

  4. It’s probably too late the take the cans back, but I’d highly recommend saving the money and just doing it yourself. You can usually find the small hokkaido pumpkins (red kuri squash) which have a VERY similar taste to pumpkin (if not a little more intense). i’d definitely suggest them for the future. 🙂 also, i use heavy cream to replace the evaporated milk in my pumpkin pies.

    regardless, you can get away with not having pumpkin pie spices. all you need are packs of cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, clove, cardamon, and a pinch of lemon zest. most of those are found a tiger, where you can get a big package for 10-20 kroner (that you can obviously use for other things).

    Like

    • Thanks for the tips! I had considered using the hokkaido pumpkins because I do see them in the stores. But I don’t have a blender, and buying one would have been much more expensive than buying the canned pumpkin. But next year, if I have a blender by then, we may try doing it completely from scratch.

      Like

      • I don’t even use a blender when I do it. Just chop it in half and bake it in the oven. After around 45 min or so, it’ll be pretty soft and you can scoop it out and just mash it with a fork. I guess that takes a bit longer than a blender but it’s already pretty soft after being baked. 🙂

        Like

  5. I can understand your excitement. I was extatic when I found a whole sugar pumpkin at one of the little corner markets in town. I bought it a couple weeks ago even though I didn’t have specific plans to are a pie yet. I haven’t seen evaporated milk, but I make my pumpkin pie like a custard.

    Oh, and the Hokkaido squash is not sweet like a pumpkin and has a nutty taste. More like a cross between a butternut squash and a chestnut. It’s texture is more firm than either a pumpkin or butternut squash too, after baking. But it would still make for a delicious pie or soup. I made awesome gnocchi with it earlier this month.

    Like

  6. Congrats on finding the pumpkin Allison! It’s always a special challenge when you’re an expat – we spent many years searching when we lived in Sudan … to no avail! Hope you and Brian have a wonderful Thanksgiving. ~Terri

    Like

    • I’m not surprised that your search for pumpkins/canned pumpkin in Sudan was not fruitful. We’re lucky (or maybe unlucky? You could argue it both ways) in that Denmark is quite similar in many ways to the US and so there aren’t big differences in things like food. Thanks for the Thanksgiving wishes. I hope yours is good as well if you’re celebrating it today!

      Like

  7. That was always my same reaction upon finding canned pumpkin in Beirut too! But then it was usually just a couple of cans. Of course I bought them all! Next time I move abroad I bringing canned pumpkin in my shipment!

    Like

Leave a Reply

