Passports Please

Today I stuck my passport in an envelope and sent it off with the postman to be renewed at the US Embassy in Copenhagen. See, with everything that was going on before we left, I forgot to check if my passport was valid for the entire time we’ll be here in Denmark. And of course, it’s not. It expires about a year too early, which means my visa also expires about a year too early. Yikes!

Fortunately, I’ve checked – thoroughly – and it seems pretty easy to renew both documents while abroad, starting with my passport. I still have about a year to go on it, but since I know we won’t be traveling for the next few months I decided to just go ahead and get it done.

It’s a very strange feeling to be outside of my country without my passport. I know that I don’t need it for day to day living, and I’m pretty sure I can travel through Europe without it as long as I have my Danish ID card. But it’s the only thing that will get me back into the US, so not having it on me and trusting it to the whims of the post service is a little strange.

Luckily, the lady at the postoffice reminded me that I should get a tracking number for the package so I can watch it wing its way over to the embassy. And another good thing is that it only takes about 2 weeks to renew your passport while abroad, compared with something like 6 weeks if you’re renewing it inside the US. So hopefully I won’t have to be without it for long.

So lesson learned. And a warning for all you planning on moving abroad: check the expiration date of your passport a good 6-4 months before the actual move!! It will just make your life a lot easier.

What I'll look like when my new passport arrives safely.

What I’ll look like when my new passport arrives safely.

 

2 thoughts on “Passports Please

  1. You can travell in EU without passport, it is, you can cross the borders. But you are supposed to be able to show your passport, if asked. I think you’ll be allright in Sweden and Norway and Germany, but I would ask before going other places 🙂

    Like

    • Yeah, I agree. I wouldn’t want to travel in Europe without my passport, even if I could. I would just be too nervous that some crazy Broke Down Palace situation would happen.

      Like

Leave a Reply

