And You Thought I Was Exaggerating

So remember a couple weeks ago when I said that I could really do with some sunshine? Well, apparently it wasn’t all in my head. Nor was it a factor of this being my first winter in Scandinavia.

According to this article from the Copenhagen Post, this is the gloomiest January since 1988. So far – now, prepare yourselves for this. Maybe you might want to sit down. This might be a bit of a shock – so far, there have only been 17 hours of sunlight in the entire month of January.

I’ll just let that sink in.

17 hours of sunlight in an entire month. And frankly, I don’t know when those 17 hours happened because I sure don’t remember them. They must have all been over Copenhagen.

So what does this mean for my everyday life? Well, yesterday I was walking to the bus stop and there was one lighter patch of clouds against all the dark grey clouds. And for that moment, the street noticeably brightened. And I got very excited. About a patch of light grey clouds. Because it meant I could believe that the sun was actually back there somewhere.

And now that it’s cold enough that instead of mist rain every day we have light snow every day. I’m pretty sure it’s been snowing constantly since last week.

And we all feel like Ned, here, because we thought winter was over after Christmas. But really, winter is just beginning.

Got Winter

And I don’t think it’s going anywhere anytime soon.

14 thoughts on “And You Thought I Was Exaggerating

  1. You *know* other Scandinavian expats understand this post! I saw sunshine reflecting on the mountain across the fjord from us this morning, but by the time I got my camera set up to capture it for proof, it was gone. But I think there’s a lighter patch of gray outside right now than what you described and experienced …. I’ll tell it to head your way. I’ve already had my allotted quota of brightness for the day.

    Like

    • Thanks for sending it over! I’ll keep an eye out for it. I was wondering how the weather has been in the other Scandinavian countries as far as gloominess. I’ve got all my fingers and toes crossed for some actual, meaningful sun sometime soon!

      Like

  2. Hang in there! I’m sure a beautiful and bright Spring/Summer is around the corner. If it’s any consolation, St. Paul, MN and Chicago, IL have been dealing with sub- sub-zero temps. (47 degree below chill factor last week!) and, with snow and ice in Atlanta, GA, the schools are closed and they’ve got a huge traffic jam all over the city with jack-knifed trucks, highways impassable because of stalled/out of gas vehicles, etc. Not a pretty picture…At this point, I think we might prefer lack of sunlight to the cold. St. Louis is back to normal and in the thirties-forties…we’ll see what February and March bring. Love to our ExPats in Aarhus! Mom Pierce

    Like

  3. It’s been sunny here for weeks now. But that doesn’t really make up for the -21 ‘comfort level’ πŸ™‚ I pretty much want to hibernate until May πŸ˜‰ Hope it gets a bit less gloomy there soon! And they say Denmark is the happiest country on earth… pfft. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Hah, I know! My parents are visiting in March, so I’m hoping the weather is slightly better by then. Just, a little bit of sun every day is all I’m asking for. Nothing like sunny for weeks, that would be asking for the impossible πŸ˜‰ I’m sorry you’ll be in your winter coat and scarf until May!

      Like

  4. Hi Allison ! Tell Brian I said “Hello” as well. It would seem I got out of Denmark at the right time, though we’ve had our fair share of winter here in Maryland as well. Hang in there. Hopefully it won’t last too much longer.

    Mike K.

    Like

    • Hi Mike! Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚ I will pass your “hello” along to Brian. Hope everything is going well for you back home!

      Like

  5. Pingback: The Danes and Fitness, or Exercising in Denmark | Our House in Aarhus

Leave a Reply

