We’re in Australia, or, Jet Lag is Sooo Annoying

Well, the new big news is that we have relocated to Melbourne, Australia for the next month and a half! Brian had to come for work, and I tagged along. Because Australia. We’ve been here a couple days now, and are sort of figuring out this city. We’re staying downtown. (That’s the Central Business Disctrict or CBD to all you locals. Yep, that’s right, I got the slang down.) It’s a muuuuuch bigger city than Aarhus, and we’re still both adjusting to all the people and noise and busy-ness. (We’re not really big city people.) But it’s also pretty exciting.

Plus, we have immediate access to, like, thousands of restaurants. And I have just one thing to say: yum. Yum yum yum yum yum yum yum. There is soooo much good food here. For one thing, we’re surrounded by authentic Thai and Italian and Chinese food. (There’s even a whole China town!) That’s so exciting after a year of pretty much blah in Aarhus. For another thing, Melbourne is just generally a foodie town, so we get to eat at restaurants like The Meatball & Wine Bar where they only serve, you got it, meatballs. But ohmigod they are best meatballs you will ever ever eat.

mmm meatballs. Mine (the closer ones) were served on creamy polenta. I'm drooling just thinking about them.

mmm meatballs. Mine (the closer ones) were served on creamy polenta. I’m drooling just thinking about them.

Not to mention the coffee shops on every street corner. I feel like I’m in Seattle with all the talk about daily brews and textured foam. Granted, I’m not drinking caffeine, but decaf espresso is a thing here! Yay!

IMG_1358

So we’ve spent the last few days swinging from excitedly exploring the city to exhaustedly trying to stay up late enough for it to reasonably be considered bed time (i.e. 8:30 pm). Somehow, jet lag caught up with us, even though I don’t really understand it this time. I woke up yesterday morning at 4am, unable to get back asleep. But Denmark is 9 hours behind us. Which means it was 7pm Danish time. Which doesn’t explain why I woke up so freaking early. And we get totally tired around 3pm, which is 6am Danish time. Again, it makes no sense in a body/sleep rhythm kind of way! Suffice it to say, our sleep patterns are all screwed up. But, as with all jet lag incidents, we’ll adjust.

So in the next couple months, you can look forward to some posts about Aussies and wallabies and cricket and coffee in addition to the occasional baby post because I’m almost 23 weeks pregnant dudes!

IMG_1369

6 thoughts on “We’re in Australia, or, Jet Lag is Sooo Annoying

  1. How exciting! Melbourne is one of my favorite cities and you’re right, the food there is great! 😛 I recommend visiting Queen Victoria’s Market and if you have the time, take a trip to Phillip’s Island (you can see penguins and there’s a chocolate factory called Panny’s that is awesome!). And if you’re a tennis fan, then obviously Rod Laver Arena. There’s a great coffee shop (there’s LOTS) called Sensory Lab, as well!
    And congratulations on the pregnancy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • We’ve actually been to Sensory Lab! It’s one of the few coffee shops over by us that’s open on Sundays, and it had great reviews so we stopped by. Really good coffee and a fun concept. We’ll have to look into Philip’s Island as a day trip. I’m currently doing research right now on what we should do and see over the weekends. Last weekend we went to the zoo 🙂

      Like

  2. What a fantastic opportunity, Allison! I’m so jealous. 🙂 (Jealous of your location, yes … and jealous of the food you describe too!)

    I hope you’re over jet-lag soon. When you woke up at 4 am, your body probably thought it was waking up from a nice nap, it’s now 7 pm, so what to do for the evening? 🙂

    I look forward to your Melbourne posts!

    Like

    • Ahh, I didn’t think about the nap explanation, but that might just be what was going on. We’re definitely over our jet lag now, one week after arriving. I find that it takes me a good 5 days to really feel like I’m on a normal sleeping pattern again.

      Like

    • lol, this is true. We’re 17 hours ahead of the US (Central time), so really I’m posting the morning of the next day! I’m in the future! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

