Oh my god we’re famous.

Ok, not really. But guys! The BBC linked to this blog in one of their travel articles. The BBC!!Β Here’s the original article: it’s called “Living In: The World’s Happiest Places” by Sunshine Flint.

Apparently, the World Happiness Report just came out again, and Denmark once again ranks among the top 5 “happy” countries in the world. {Just a small aside: is it weird to anyone else that “having someone to count on” is literally a variable in how they rank these countries? Could they have written a more vague and wishy-washy sounding variable?}

Blogging is such a unique experience, and it is still surprising to me how small the virtual world can be. The interwebs is this huge, vast space, but with blogging you can carve out your own little niche and find your own little community. I’m very thankful I’ve had my blog and my online friends during this experience. They’ve helped me to feel connected in moments when I could have felt very isolated. So thanks for reading, guys πŸ˜‰

And thanks to my friend Yuka for bringing this BBC article to my attention! I should really be paying more attention to who links to my blog and how people find my blog…

 

8 thoughts on “Oh my god we’re famous.

  1. I just found your blog and can’t wait to read more.

    It is really interesting seing Denmark and the city we both live in through the eyes of an American.
    I am usually considered – well – almost overly polite for a Dane and I hadn’t given it any thought that it could be considered impolite not to look strangers in the eyes as you pass them. I have a feeling I will learn a lot about this country following your blog πŸ˜‰

    (Obviously English is not my first language so I hope for forgiveness for my grammatical errors)

    Wow, writing this was almost anxiety-provoking for a shy Dane πŸ˜‰

    Med venlig hilsen (just to test your Danish)
    Mette

    Like

    • Hi Mette. Thanks so much for the post and I’m glad that you are enjoying my blog! My husband and I have actually had a very good experience with the Danes so far. We did not at all get the impression of rudeness that some foreigners get. Sure there’s less of a culture of politeness, but I haven’t seen much outright rudeness. And you’ll get some of that no matter where you are because there’s some bad apples everywhere. Also, Brian and I are more reserved than your average (stereotypical) American, so we probably have more in common the the shy Danes than others would πŸ™‚

      Of course, all of my blog posts are based on my very limited and personal experience of Danish culture, so please post if you ever disagree or think that I’ve got something wrong! I’d love to have the input. Maybe once I move a bit further along in my Danish classes I can write the occasional post in Danish πŸ™‚

      Tak skal du have! πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a comment